On the edge of the Forest of Dean is this delightful town. Apart from the modern road markings, pedestrian crossing and advert, this is a scene that could be unchanged from many years ago. The tower in the centre of the picture was part of the Parish Church. Expanded in 1820, it still proved too small, being pulled down in 1882 – replaced by a much larger church further up the hill, itself closed controversially in 2016. Coleford is a picturesque town that has retained much of its character.
The clock tower marks the location of the Market Square. The Town Hall in this location (enlarged in 1866) was demolished in 1968 to alleviate traffic congestion. A mini gyratory system now exists around the tower, useful as this is the terminus of a number of bus routes. A white building just visible in the distance is The Angel Inn. Opened in the 1650s, re-fronted or rebuilt around 1800. It housed an Excise Office for many years, and was Coleford’s principal coaching inn.
- Taken: 3 Feb 2020
- Camera: Canon 5D MkIII
- Lens: Canon EF 24-70mm 1:2.8 L II USM
- Focal Length 24mm
- 1/60 Sec
- ISO 100